The Commission

Background and Mission of the Commission

The Edenton Historical Commission is not your traditional not-for-profit group. We were created by the General Assembly of North Carolina in 1961 and are recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a 501 (c)(3) tax-exempt organization. In other words, we were created by the state but are not a state agency and donations to the Commission are tax deductible for the donor’s income tax purposes (follow the advice of your tax advisor).

We do not receive routine funding from state or federal governments. From time to time, the Town of Edenton and Chowan County have contributed to our work, which we greatly appreciated. But, well over 95% of our funding comes from the people just like you: people interested in preservation of historical public buildings and more importantly, learning about the stories of the important leaders that guided the development and growth of the colony, the state and the nation.

The Commission has 33 members. The Governor appoints 22 commissioners, the Speaker of the House appoints four, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate appoints four and three positions are filled, ex officio.

Annual Report and 990 & 990T:

2014 IRS 990 & 990T Edenton Historical Commission 2014 990 & 990-T

2013 IRS 990 & 990T Edenton Historical Commission 2013 990 & 990T

2012 Annual Report with copies of IRS 990 & 990T: EHC Annual Report 2012

2010/2011 Annual Report with copies of IRS 990 & 990T is available as a PDF.

2009 Annual Report and a copy of our IRS 990 is available as a PDF.

Keep up with the restoration and storm repair efforts by visiting the Barker House on Facebook and signing up as a Fan.

The North Carolina General Assembly’s 1961 Act creating the Edenton Historical Commission reads, in part: “to effect and encourage preservation, restoration, and appropriate presentation of the Town of Edenton and Chowan County, as a historic, educational and aesthetic place, to the benefit of the citizens of the place and state and of visitors” (G.S. 143B-95)

Commissioner’s Meetings:
All Commissioners are encouraged to join the Executive Committee and Committee Chairmen at our 3rd Tuesday of the month meetings.  The public may audit such meetings.  Meetings are held in the Penelope Barker House Conference Room starting at 9:00 am.

Full Commission Meetings for 2016:

Quarterly Meeting  – Thursday, January 28th, 4:00 pm, Shepard-Pruden Memorial Library
Quarterly Meeting – Thursday,
Quarterly Meeting – Thursday,
Annual Meeting – Thursday,
To Automatically Receive Email Updates on significant changes to this Commissioners’ private page, sign-up by Clicking Here.

Commission By-Laws:

The Commission adopted new By-Laws at the October 22, 2009 Annual Meeting and then on April 22, 2010 to change the number of meetings each year, from two to four, (see Article VIII).  EHC By-Laws ADOPTED 042210
Minutes of recent full Commission Meetings:
Executive Committee Minutes (By law Minutes are public documents):

Commissioner Members:
Hon. C. Christopher Bean, Chairman
Hon. Thomas Newbern, Vice-Chair
Mr. Miles B. Coxe, Treasurer
Mr. Benjamin Speller, Jr., Secretary
Mr. Norman Brinkley, Jr.
Mr. William Chesson
Mr. Jerome F. Climer
Mr. Thomas Credle
Mrs. Susan Creighton
Mr. Samuel B. Dixon
Mrs. Anne Ellis
Mrs. Joy Harvill
Mrs. Frances Inglis
Mr. Hall Johnstone
Mrs. SallyFrancis Kehayes
Mr. Vann Lassiter
Mrs. Donna McLees
Mrs. Ann Perry
Mrs. Jaquelin Perry
Mr. Robert Quinn
Mr. James Robison
Mrs. Cordelia Tyler
Mr. J. Dawson Tyler III
Mr. Earl Willis
Mrs. Annette Wood
Mr. T. Benbury H. Wood, Jr.
Mr. Thomas B. Wood
Ex Officio:
Hon. Susi Hamilton
Hon. Jeff Smith
Hon. Roland H. Vaughan

View a slide presentation about our Mission 

Our passion is honoring our forefathers by not only preserving their memories and homes, but in preserving their ethics and values.  Listed below you will find links to several articles which discuss our work:


Gallery of Events