Edenton Historical Commission Quarterly Commission Meeting and Strategic Planning

January 6th & 7th, 2012 **Minutes**

The full Commission of the Edenton Historical Commission met Friday, January 6th, 4:00 pm and Saturday, January 7th, 9:00 am for its first Quarterly Meeting of 2012 and a combined Strategic Planning session for 2012-2013. Attendees on January 6th, at the River House Restaurant, Edenton, NC, included Chairman Jerry Climer, Vice-Chairman Libby Pope, Treasurer Frank Palm, Secretary Ben Speller, Commissioners Norman Brinkley Jr., Susan Creighton, Bill Culpepper, John Dowd, Frances Inglis, Katherine Kopp, Vann Lassiter, Ann Perry, Bob Quinn, Cy Rich, Jim Robison, Nancy Winslow and Annette Wood. Guests included Linda Eure (Secretary Linda Carlisle's representative on the Commission), Nancy Nicholls (Chowan County Tourism Development Authority), Anne Rowe, Barker House Manager and Commission Executive Director Gregg Nathan.

Chairman Climer called the meeting to order and Secretary Ben Speller took the roll. With a quorum established, Chairman Climer convened the meeting and called for a motion to approve the Minutes of the November 10th, 2011 Annual Commission meeting. Bob Quinn made a Motion "To adopt the Minutes as presented"; Cy Rich seconded the motion, which was adopted unanimously.

Chairman Climer welcomed new Commissioner Jim Robison, who was appointed by the Speaker of the House to fill the position previously held by Erica Churchill, who did not seek reappointment.

Chairman Climer made a Motion "To issue a \$1,000 bonus check to each full-time employee, to increase their HSA account, upon the Chairman's receipt of confirmation that such account exists in good standing"; Annette Wood seconded the motion, which was adopted unanimously.

Following extensive discussion about status of eh economy and other factors effecting the operations of the Commission, the first day of the meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.

Attendees on January 7th, in the Edenton Town Council Chambers, included Chairman Jerry Climer, Vice-Chairman Libby Pope, Treasurer Frank Palm, Secretary Ben Speller, Commissioners Norman Brinkley Jr., Bill Culpepper, John Dowd, Katherine Kopp, Vann Lassiter, Ann Perry, Bob Quinn, Cy Rich, Jim Robison, Nancy Winslow, Annette Wood, Anne Rowe (Barker House Manager) and Executive Director Gregg Nathan.

Chairman Climer convened the meeting and asked for a review of the proposed resolution to the NC Legislature regarding the Commission's Charter, specifically to eliminate the existing statutory requirement that the Commission have an annual certified audit, which imposes a prohibitive cost on the very limited resources of small Commissions. Frank Palm made a Motion "To authorize the Executive Committee to write a resolution reflecting these views, in

consultation with Bill Culpepper, and submit it to the Governor, the Senate President Pro Tempore and the Speaker of the House, with a copy to the Secretary of the Department of Cultural Resources"; Libby Pope seconded the motion, which was adopted unanimously.

Following several hours discussing goals and projects of the Commission in the coming two years and there being no further business, Ben Speller made a Motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Bob Quinn and adopted unanimously. The Commission adjourned at 1:15 pm.